ACADEMIC CLUBS

Academic Challenge Team
Academic Challenge Team is a team of MHS students who compete against teams from other high schools to correctly answer academic questions on history, mathematics, sciences and literature. The team competes in the Greater Western Ohio Conference. Matches are held after school in the winter culminating in a league tournament in early March. Contact Mr. Sean Ridley at sridley@miamisburg.k12.oh.us

Ohio Mock Trial
Ohio Mock Trial program is a statewide educational program designed to teach high school students about their constitutional rights and responsibilities. The Mock Trial competition is an academic tournament in which students must argue both sides of a case successfully in order to advance in the competition. Contact TBD.
 
National Honor Society
National Honor Society is open to Juniors and Seniors who have earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.75 and who are committed to service and leadership activities. Applications are required, and membership is subject to approval by faculty members. Contact Mrs. Amy Caudy at acaudy@miamisburg.k12.oh.us or Ms. Lisa Porges at lporges@miamisburg.k12.oh.us
 
Destination Imagination is a problem solving team, which competes locally and at the state and national level. Students solve a long-term problem with creative strategies, and the solution is presented to a judging panel at competition. Also, at competitions, students solve a spontaneous problem within 2-8 minutes. Contact Mrs. Haley Moore at hmoore@miamisburg.k12.oh.us
 
S.I.S.E.R.
S.I.S.E.R.: The Students in Science & Engineering Roundtable (SISER) club aim to create a positive, diverse, safe, and student-led environment for students interested in STEMM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math & Medicine). Contact Ms. Anna Powell at aepowell@miamiburg.k12.oh.us or Mrs. Katie Pennington at
kpennington@miamisburg.k12.oh.us

SPECIAL INTEREST CLUBS

Disc Golf
Disc Golf is played much like traditional golf. Instead of a ball and clubs, though, players use a flying disc or Frisbee. Contact Mr. Brent Clausing at bclausing@miamisburg.k12.oh.us

FCA
FCA (Fellowship of Christian Athletes: ) The purpose of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA) is to enable local church leaders to meet with students to share the bible, pray together, and form new friendships while carrying out the Great Commission of Jesus. FCA typically meets monthly before school. All students are welcome to attend. Contact Mr. Brent Clausing at bclausing@miamisburg.k12.oh.us .


FINE ARTS CLUBS

Dance Team
Dance Team: The MHS Dance Team will work as a team to learn dance routines, compete in area competitions and perform at Miamisburg
High School events. All levels of experience are welcome. Contact Lindsey Knoth at lindsey.knoth@gmail.com.
 
Marching Band, Concert Band, Jazz Band & Pep Band
Marching Band, Concert Band, Jazz Band and Pep Band at Miamisburg High School offers a full range of instrumental music opportunities. Participants in the Marching Band participate in local, regional and national contests. Students also have the opportunity to compete in the Ohio Music Education Association Solo and Ensemble Contest. Contact Mr. Steve Aylward at saylward@miamisburg.k12.oh.us

Show Choir, Madrigal Singers, Triple Trio & Men's Ensemble
Show Choir and Madrigal Singers are vocal performance groups open to anyone with an interest in vocal music. These groups perform at concerts, community events and contests sanctioned by the Ohio Music Education Association. Admission is by audition only. Contact Ms. Caitlyn Coulson at ccoulson@miamiburg.k12.oh.us .

Color Guard
Color Guard is the fall flag corp that performs with the marching band. Performance at football games is their primary focus. Winter Guard performs routines as entertainment and competes locally and in state and national competitions. The Guard is selective and tryouts are in the spring. Contact Ms.Heather Graham at hrgraham1130@gmail.com
 
Musical Theatre
Musical Theatre offers opportunities for students in performance and production of a high school musical. Contact: Ms. Lauren Komorowski at lkomorowski@miamisburg.k12.oh.us
 
LEADERSHIP CLUBS
 
BOLD
BOLD (Building Our Lives Drug Free) is committed to principles that support safety and concern for others while having the responsibility of operating a vehicle. This group is also designed to heighten awareness about substance abuse and develop strategies to discourage the use of drugs. Contact Officer Ryan Copsey at rcopsey@miamisburg.k12.oh.us or Mr. Robert Neubauer at rneubauer@miamisburg.k12.oh.us
 
Hope Squad
Hope Squad
is a group of selected students. Hope Squad members are shown how to help someone through a crisis using safe, evidence-based training. Hope Squad members actively spread awareness of suicide prevention in their schools, families and communities.
 
Interact
Interact is a service organization connected to the Rotary Club. The program gives you an opportunity to participate in fun, meaningful community service projects while developing leadership skills and meeting new friends. Contact Mrs. Keely Causevic at kcausevic@miamisburg.k12.oh.us or Mrs. Julie Fisher at jfisher@miamisburg.k12.oh.us
 
Principal's Advisory Committee
The Principal’s Advisory Committee is a group of students selected to help and advise the Principal on ways to make MHS a better place academically, socially and safely for the student body.

Student Government
Student Government members are elected by the students. Elections are held in May. Student government is responsible for planning and implementing activities involving the entire student body. Student government also represents all students at MHS, working with administration and faculty in various decision-making activities. For more information, please contact Jennifer Brockert.

Junior States of America
Junior States of America is a debate/discussion group that meets regularly to review how the government works. Weekend activities are involved. Contact Mrs. Amy Elsass at aelsass@miamisburg.k12.oh.us.

GSA
The Gay-Straight Alliance (GSA) club is a group of students who are working to develop a more accepting school community environment for all people - regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression - through education, support, social action, and advocacy. Contact: Ms. Anna Powell
aepowell@miamisburg.k12.oh.us or Mr. Elizabeth Daulton edaulton@miamisburg.k12.oh.us
 

Miamisburg City Schools  •  540 E. Park Ave.  •  Miamisburg, OH  45342  •  937-866-3381  •  (fax) 937-865-5250
Copyright © 2021 Miamisburg City Schools, all rights reserved
Disclaimer  •   Privacy Policy  •   Contact Us